DUI Convictions in California
Drivers may want to research California DUI information if they have been convicted of Driving Under the Influence by law enforcement. When looking for more drunk driving information, CA motorists will find that the state has no tolerance for drivers who operate vehicles while impaired by alcohol or drugs. The strict DUI laws in CA punish drivers who are convicted of driving while intoxicated or under the influence with strict penalties, including jail time or a driver’s license suspension. There are many other DUI consequences that drivers will face if convicted, so it is crucial for drivers to never operate a vehicle with an open container of alcohol or while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. A driver who is charged with DUI in California will be arrested and may face a trial to learn his or her ruling on the case. DUI penalties can vary depending on the situation, so learning about the potential drunk driving fines and other consequences is important for drivers in this situation. Review the information below to find out more about what constitutes California DUI charges, what happens after a conviction and potential drunk driving charges.
California Drunk Driving Information
Drivers who are charged with drunk driving may question, “Is a DUI a felony in California?” DUI offenses may be charged as felonies if the driver has had multiple DUI charges in the past or has caused severe injury or death to someone through his or her actions. Each DUI violation is charged independently and the judge in the court case will determine if the DUI should be charged as a misdemeanor or felony.
Drivers may also wonder, “Is DUI a criminal offense?” The charge of a DUI in CA is considered a criminal offense by the state and the accused driver must attend a court case. It is against the law for a driver to operate a non-commercial motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) that is 0.08 percent or higher and it is illegal for a driver to operate a commercial vehicle in the state with a BAC of 0.04 percent or higher. DUI charges are issued when a driver takes a chemical or blood test and the BAC is shown to be within this range. Drivers who are younger than 21 years of age or have a prior DUI conviction will face a DUI charge if their BAC is found to be .01 percent or higher while operating a motor vehicle. Additionally, a driver will face a DUI conviction from law enforcement if he or she refuses to take the BAC test as requested by law enforcement. DUI laws in California require law enforcement to arrest a driver who is confirmed to be driving under the influence and immediately suspend his or her state driver’s license.
DUI Consequences in California
A California driver convicted of a DUI will be tried in a DMV hearing and in a court trial to determine if he or she is guilty of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If convicted, DUI laws in California allow the judge to charge the driver with the consequences he or she finds fit the situation. The DUI consequences can include taking a class or attending school about safe driving. The DUI information covered in safe driving school shows attendees how dangerous driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol is and how it endangers the safety of themselves, passengers and other drivers on the road.
DUI charges in CA may also include penalties or fines if a driver is found guilty of the charge. DUI penalties can also be expensive and financially detrimental for drivers. DUI penalty fees must be paid by a driver to have his or her driver’s license suspension lifted and before other DUI consequences can be reversed or eliminated. Failure to pay the DUI fees and other penalty fees associated with the case may result in additional legal consequences and charges for the driver.
Additional DUI Penalties in California
A California DUI violation can result in different penalties and consequences for drivers, depending on the specific situation. A DMV hearing is conducted to ensure the DUI conviction is valid, if requested by the convicted driver. The drunk driving information and details on the arrest and the interaction with the law enforcement officer are examined during a DMV hearing to ensure there was probable cause for the legal action taken against the driver.
A court trial is also conducted after DUI charges so a judge can hear the case. During the court trial, the driver can plead his or her side of the case, using evidence and testimony to attempt to prove no DUI laws were broken. At the completion of the court case, the judge will determine a ruling and issue consequences if the driver is found guilty or dismiss the DUI charge if there is not enough evidence against the driver.
DUI information in CA confirms that a judge who finds a driver guilty of driving under the influence may sentence him or her to driving school, jail time, probation, community service or a suspended license. Additionally, if a driver convicted of a DUI in CA is found guilty of the crime, penalty points will be added to his or her driver’s license record. The amount of points added to the license depends on the severity of the DUI violation, the driver’s exact BAC at the time of interaction with law enforcement and whether he or she was involved in a traffic accident.