Reinstating a Suspended Drivers License in California
A California suspended drivers license can be issued for a driver when he or she breaks one of the state’s laws or displays a record of repeated offenses. A drivers license suspension is a severe consequence for many California residents because it makes transportation more difficult and can have major impacts on daily lives. Driving with a suspended license can result in harsher penalties, fees and an extension of the suspension. Before a motorist can reinstate drivers license, he or she must learn the procedures to restore driving credentials, the fees that may be due and the administrative processes that must be followed. The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will only allow for reinstating drivers license in California if the driver has served his or her time ordered with the suspension and has not received any further violations or license points while the license was suspended. To find out more about drivers license reinstatement, the reasons a drivers license is suspended and how to know if a drivers license is eligible for reinstatement, review the following sections.
Reasons for a California Drivers License Suspension
One of the most common reasons for a suspension of drivers license in California is the charge of Driving Under the Influence (DUI). DMV officials have also revoked drivers license credentials for other violations, such as reckless driving, speeding or being found guilty of a hit and run. In addition to a suspended drivers license, drivers who are convicted of committing these acts may face additional consequences, such as penalty fees and jail time.
A driver may also need to check drivers license suspension with the DMV if he or she was convicted of assaulting a passenger, another driver, pedestrian or bicyclist while on the highway. Since a road rage conviction can lead to a revoked drivers license in CA, a driver convicted of this crime may need to follow the procedure for reinstating the license after appearing before a judge. A drivers license suspension can also occur when a driver attempts to flee from a law enforcement officer or when he or she accumulates too many points on a driver’s license record.
A provisional drivers license is issued to young drivers who are younger than 18 years of age, have completed driver’s education and successfully applied for the license with the DMV. The provisional license can also be suspended for young drivers, just like a regular driver’s license, if they commit the above-mentioned actions or incur a specific number of license points within a period of time. If a California provisional driving license is revoked, the young driver must serve the full-term of the suspension as charged, even if he or she turns 18 years of age during the revocation period.
Requirements for Reinstating Drivers License in California
Motorists will need to look into options for drivers license restoration in California when is becomes available for them to take action. Before a drivers license is reinstated in California, the driver will learn from a judge or from the DMV the length of the revocation period. In some cases, the judge or DMV will not allow a driver to attempt to reinstate a drivers license until a certain period has passed. The CA drivers license suspension may also be implemented until a driver is able to complete certain tasks, pay specific fines or prove validity through the presentation of paperwork to the DMV. Drivers can check drivers license suspension requirements with the DMV to learn the exact requirements of obtaining a revocation of the suspension. Drivers who have committed crimes or been convicted of violations during a period of drivers license revocation may have additional time to wait before attempting to reinstate the license.
When reinstating drivers license in CA is an option for a driver, he or she should be ready to pay the DMV license reissue fees. There may be other fees associated with restoring a driver’s license in California, including a court-restriction fee, alcohol screening fee or expenses related to attending traffic school. Drivers who have been charged with a DUI or other serious violation may also be required to present proof of insurance before a reinstatement of driver’s license can occur. Auto insurance proof may also be required to be presented to the DMV for years to come to avoid another drivers license suspension in CA.
To find out more about potential requirements for drivers license reinstatement in CA, download our informative guide.
The Process to Reinstate Drivers License in California
After having a driver’s license revoked, a driver may need to serve a specific time period with no license before being allowed to attempt a reinstatement. Once the time has been served with a suspended drivers license, the driver should consult with the DMV for the proper steps he or she needs to follow to reinstate the driving license in CA. The requirements for drivers license reinstatement may be different for each driver, depending on the circumstances and whether the suspension was ordered by a judge or the DMV. In most cases, the driver will need to visit the DMV with the proper reissuance fees and paperwork for a drivers license reinstatement.
Proof of valid auto insurance, such as SR-22 insurance, is also required before a drivers license is restored. There are specific auto insurance liability limits set by the DMV that must be met or exceeded by drivers who are attempting to reinstate a revoked drivers license. When all requirements are met, drivers license restoration may occur for drivers with a suspended license. However, additional violations or driver’s license points that are accumulated for drivers with a previous suspended license may result in severe legal actions and consequences.