Section 8 Denials in California


If you have received a Section 8 denial letter, this means that the Public Housing Agency (PHA) has found you ineligible for low-income housing. This first thing you must do is find out what are the reasons for Section 8 denial and how to file an appeal for Section 8 rejection. The Section 8 housing disqualifications should be clearly stated in the denial letter you received from the PHA. This section of the guide will help you decide if you want to appeal against your Section 8 denial and if so, how to request an appeal. To find out how to appeal Section 8 denial, review the following topics.

Common Reasons Your California Section 8 Application Was Denied

Section 8 housing disqualifications result in application rejection. The Section 8 denial letter will list the reason for the refusal from the program. It is important to discover the reasons for Section 8 denial to petition for an appeal successfully. Section 8 applications and requirements concern to the entire household, not just the person applying. The PHA will consider each family member when determining eligibility for Section 8 in California. Your family may have been denied public housing assistance because the combined household income exceeds the limit set by the PHA. If you or a family member refuses to sign all the consent forms, such as releasing documents and information relating to citizenship and employment, your application will be immediately denied.

You may also receive a Section 8 denial letter if you or a family member has previously received an eviction notice from a Section 8 home. You may also be denied low-income housing assistance if you or a family member has been convicted of a drug related crime committed at or nearby a Section 8 property. Likewise, if a member of the household committed fraud, bribery or other criminal activities connected to a Section 8 property. Each case is considered on an individual basis. This means that the reason for Section 8 denial, involvement of the family member and the severity of the case will be taken into account when a final decision is made.

To learn more about reasons for Section 8 denial, download our comprehensive guide here.

What to Do If Section 8 Application Was Denied in California

If your Section 8 application was denied, the PHA is required by law to send you notification. By now, you have read through your Section 8 denial letter and understand why your application for low-income housing was denied. One way to find out how to appeal Section 8 denial is to talk to a local HUD representative about your case. You will file a Section 8 denial appeal and request an informal hearing to contest the PHA’s decision. You must submit your request by the deadline set by the PHA on the letter. While your appeal is pending, the PHA is not permitted to terminate any public assistance payments until you have before the hearing committee. For the sake of impartiality, the hearing will be conducted by an independent third-party who will be officially appointed by the PHA. The appointed representative will not have been involved in making the decision on your eligibility or granting your Section 8 housing assistance.

Before you attend the Section 8 denial appeal hearing, you will need to gather relevant documents. These will include your Section 8 denial letter and any current Section 8 contract you have. To appeal against you Section 8 housing disqualifications, you must also bring any PHA repayment agreements, lease contracts, damage claims, written complaints, police reports, witness statements and any other documents that you feel are relevant to your appeal. You also have the right to have legal representation at the hearing. During the hearing you will have an opportunity to present your documents to the panel. Afterwards the PHA will issue a statement and explain the reasoning behind their decision.

Eviction and the California Section 8 Denial Appeal

You may be concerned about Section 8 housing disqualifications if your landlord has presented you with an eviction notice. The Section 8 denial letter instructs you to report this to the PHA immediately. During a Section 8 denial appeal process, you still receive your payments from the PHA until the eviction decision has been made in the court. If you consider the reasons for eviction are unreasonable or invalid, you have the legal right to contest them. Section 8 households should ask questions of the landlord before signing the lease agreement to understand the expectations as tenants fully. If the eviction notice has been reinforced with a court order due to your violation of the lease agreement, such as serious and willful damage to the property, the PHA has the right to terminate your low-income housing assistance. Breaking the lease agreement concerns Section 8 eligibility. Even in this circumstance, you still have the right to appeal the decision. However, this type of PHA decision is very difficult to change, particularly when they are formed on the basis of a court order. It is important that you maintain your home to the standard outlined in the rental contract and that you keep a good relationship with your landlord in order to prevent losing your Section 8 accommodation and your family’s security.

To learn more about how to appeal Section 8 denial, download our comprehensive guide.

What Housing Help Can I Get Through HUD?

California residents can receive various types of housing assistance, from federal housing aid to home loans and more. Additionally, the Department of Housing and Urban Development offers CA residents counseling services, which cover how to avoid foreclosure, how to buy a home and how to rent a living space, to name only a few topics. Find out everything you need to know about housing assistance programs in California by downloading our comprehensive HUD guide.

Who Is Eligible to Receive Housing Help in California?

In order to receive housing help from the state of California, you typically need to meet the income requirements of the specific assistance program you are applying for. These necessary qualifications often refer to the income of the household, based on the number of members. Find out if you and your household are eligible for housing assistance here.